Ksenia Anske’s “Easter Bunny Apocalypse”

Well, it was bound to happen, but I was invited to partake in my first flash fiction compilation. The theme was (drum roll) –The Easter Bunny Apocalypse.

Whaa???

Yes, I know, be careful what you wish for, but I had so much fun!

Here’s how it all went down…

Author of The Siren Suicides, Ksenia Anske had a fevered idea to coordinate a flash fiction potluck of writers from various genres from all over the world. USA, Mexico, EGYPT!!! the UK and, of course, Canada (and two from Chicago – murder capital of the world) took a shot at kicking the tar out of the Easter Bunny (that bastard).

I want an apocalypse NOW, dammit!

I want an apocalypse NOW, dammit!

And so, the plot had to be:

a)      Crazy, and

b)      About the possible end of the world in the springtime.

How ironic, don’t ya think?

Love it or hate it, those were the rules. We scribes had a world of possibilities before us!

The end product was awesome and tight, thanks to the editing wonders of Ms. Colleen M. Albert. I mean, what more could a project want than free editing! (That doesn’t come cheap). I feel a bit bad for her as she had to connect the dots with our eclectic and, admittedly, insane plot-points and styles. Some of us were poetic, some zany and others spot-on with adventure writing. British author David Eccles, was kind enough to blog the experience as well!

Twenty chapters and yours truly was number nineteen. EEKS!

After reading J. Luis Licea’s inspiring entry to the story, I just had to jump the gun and tap out Chapter Nineteen well before my time was due. You can read it right here. Very divine I must say, and I mean this literally.

Must admit, my preemptive shenanigans threw a turd in the Easter basket, but damn it, we sailed to the shores of Switzerland with this one!

READ THE EASTER BUNNY APOCALYPSE HERE! CHAPTER ONE!

The best part of it all was I had the opportunity to connect with amazing new friends in the writing field. This was something foreign to me as I’ve never hung with the scribe-crowd before.  I wish all of you guys the best, and you will be with me for as long as I can hold on to you.

In no particular order:

Ksenia Anske

David Eccles

Baz Nova

Brandon Yusuf Toropov

J. Luis Licea

Becky Flade

Colleen M. Albert

Danielle Tauscher

Dustin McKenzie

Rosalind Smith-Nazilli

Sandra Hould

Diogenes Ruiz

Michel Lee King

Lori Lesko

Aliaa Jordan El-Nashar

Kevin Nielsen (the Canadian dude)

Cat Scully

Kai Kiriyama

Doug Karlson

Sheila Hall

Andrew Hovenden

Seth Werkheiser

You guys are the greatest. Hold on to me, and I’ll hold on to you!

HAPPY EASTER!

11 Responses to “Ksenia Anske’s “Easter Bunny Apocalypse””

  1. It was one mad ride, thanks for being part of it!

  2. It was an honour and a pleasure, M. C.!
    Roll on May, when we get to do it again, but with 10x the amount of words at our disposal!
    And to anyone who reads this on April 1st: It’s no joke! There’s another project in the works, so stay tuned!

  3. Same here, M. C.! It feels funny, not getting up early to blog on the EBA, lol. I suppose i’ll watch The Walking Dead season finale, then Grimm, then crack on with some writing!

  4. Thanks for the mention and it HAS been a fun ride! You guys were all fun to work with 😉
    How come there’s no mention of my origins? I’m from Egypt you know :p

  5. I am so grateful you joined in on the fun! Ksenia got me addicted to chain stories last year and I haven’t looked back! *tackle hugs* Keep holding on!!

    I shall miss my fellow bunnies as well…

  6. Fear not, Sheila. We will return.

  7. I loved every bit of it, it was so much fun, I cannot wait to do it again!

  8. *Tears*
    Thank you so much for the mention! I truly, truly appreciate your words!!!
    I had lots of fun writing with everyone and seeing each new chapter come alive.

    Ahh, I have no words.
    *Hugs the screen*

Leave a Reply

