Coming Up

Hello, everyone!

Been a bit scarce lately, but I have been busy with numerous short story submissions to various anthologies. I know, you might think, “You’ve tapped out two novels! Why short stories?” Here’s why:

I love anthologies. Sure, they are collections of short stories and flash where you aren’t treated to thick plots chock-full of an orchestra of characters, but sometimes, a short story can be so fun to write. I suppose it’s like sharpening your teeth for a Main Event, but they are what they are. Although I might be a bit old school when it comes to the publishing game, I have normally found new authors whom I love via these collections. And, damn it! I just want to be in one.

Already, I have been accepted into The Apocalypse Collective’s anthology Echoes of the Wasteland. My editor Michel King has been great and I would love to work with her again in the future. She’s a whip-cracker, but you will be assured a tight product. My story is called Petey Says. Like most of everything I write, this one is pretty dark, but contains no humor whatsoever. Kinda sad, actually. Michel said she cried while reading it. You might too.

After that, I have just submitted a shorty, Holiday in Modal City,  for the Neverland’s Library Anthology of Rediscovery. This is a fantasy-based, nature-themed ditty featuring a heavy use of Hindu mythology. I really want to get into this collection. Like, really bad. Please cross your fingers, guys.

William Cook is a master of the horror genre. His upcoming anthology “Fresh Fear” focuses on quiet, psychological horror. I am waiting on the scoop for my submission entitled Unholy Mortal Sin. The terror in this tale is the horrible life and mind of the featured protagonist. Sometimes real life is the worst terror of all. You’ll see.

Currently, I am working on a short called Conduct Disorder for horror maven James Ward Kirk’s anthology Serial Killers Tres Tria. It’s Mr. Kirk’s third installment of his serial killer series and, let me just say, this yarn is rough! Imagine what happens if you are born into a family of rich Satanists and you finally get Barbie’s Dream House for Walpurgisnacht when you are a little girl. Yeah… Total shit-storm.

Speaking of James Ward Kirk, I’d like to give a shout-out to my friend and fine Briton David Eccles whose story Doing it for JRD (Justice, Revenge and Deliverance), has just been greenlighted into Kirk’s anthology Sex, Drugs and Horror. It’s NASTY and raw and will hit the shelves in July. Good job, David!

As promised, I will be releasing my own anthology of shorts, flash and prose called Everybody Must be Crushed around November or December. It’s a collection of Bizarro tales focusing on the prevalent culture of anger pervading the 2010’s. Totally sarcastic and weird, these stories will make you say, “Huh?”

Not one of these submissions are YA-friendly, but, you know? I have gotta do what I have gotta do.

I’ll keep you posted to my progress, and whatever the outcome, I’ll keep writing. Thank you, guys.

3 Responses to “Coming Up”

  1. Great to see you blogging again, bro! These short stories take it out of you, i must say! And the ideas just keep on coming, hence the debut novel of mine is on the back burner for the time being.
    I love flash fiction and the short story format. I too have discovered wonderful writers through anthologies. I remember reading all of the classic SF anthologies like Analog and Amazing Stories which would always feature a story by the great names in SF. Long live the short story!
    We’ll crack on and keep delivering the goods as always. Many thanks for the kind words, Mark. You’ve always been supportive and enthusiastic and believed in my work, and i thank you for pointing me in the direction of James Ward Kirk and jwkfiction.com.
    One thing to point out is that the Sex, Drugs & Horror anthology isn’t published until July, not June as you state in your blog. A mere difference of a few weeks, lol.

  2. Yeah, needed to do the blog-thing again. Let ’em know I’m still here.

    Loved Analog. Also loved Twilight Zone Magazine. Some of those stories really freaked me out as a kid.

    Writing shorts can honestly be more of a chore than novels, I feel. I really can’t explain why. I guess it’s due to the economy of language you’re forced to employ. I don’t have an unlimited page count to wrap things up and whatnot.

    Anyway, I’ve fixed the release date and I just want to say congrats again, David.

  3. I agree. Short stories can be so hard to develop if you have to contend with a word limit, and sometimes they just flood out so easily. I find short story writing great exercise and practice. It teaches you economy of words and focus. And thanks once again! 🙂

Leave a comment